Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Recommended Reading: No Love Lost by Alice Munro

Share |
Recommended Reading: No Love Lost by Alice Munro

New Canadian Library, 2003

Alice Munro is universally acknowledged as the finest short fiction writer in English. Bringing together ten incomparable stories from six different collections, No Love Lost confirms her pre-eminent status. Focusing on the many paths of falling in love, each of these stories of ordinary people reveals new truths about people as real – and as extraordinary – as ourselves.

In selecting this unique gathering of stories, Jane Urquhart noted the brilliance of Munro’s fiction, suggesting that Munro's genius guides us “through love’s labyrinth, insisting all the while that we keep our eyes wide open to its complicated foliage, its shadows, its piercing blasts of light.”

Alice Munro’s fame abroad is matched by the admiration she enjoys in Canada, where she has won the Governor General’s Award three times. Awards for her past collections include the W.H. Smith Prize in the U.K.; the National Book Circle Critics Award in the U.S.; the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction; the Rea Award for the Short Story; the Giller Prize, the Trillium Prize and the Libris Award. She lives in Ontario and British Columbia.

From the catalogue. Read more about No Love Lost at the McClelland & Stewart website.