Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

2011 Forest of Reading Winners Announced

Share |
Forest of Reading

The 2011 Forest of Reading Festival of Trees was held at Harbourfront Centre in Toronto on May 11 and 12. During the festival, the Ontario Library Association (OLA) and Authors at Harbourfront Centre announced the winners of the Forest of Reading Awards. The awards consist of seven programs "designed to cultivate a love of reading for people of all ages." Congratulations to the winners and the nominees!

The Forest of Reading winners:

Blue Spruce Award (Kindergarten–Grade 2): Dave Whamond for My Think-A-Ma-Jink (OwlKids)

Silver Birch Express Award (Grade 3–4): Ashley Spires for Binky the Space Cat (Kids Can Press)

Silver Birch Fiction Award (Grade 4–6): Kevin Sylvester for Neil Flambé and the Marco Polo Murders (Key Porter Books)

Silver Birch Non-Fiction Award (Grade 4–6): Valerie Wyatt and Fred Rix for How to Build Your Own Country (Kids Can Press)

Red Maple Fiction Award (Grade 7–8): Vicki Grant for Not Suitable for Family Viewing (HarperCollins Canada)

Red Maple Non-Fiction Award (Grade 7–8): Mariatu Kamara with Susan McClelland for The Bite of the Mango (Annick Press)

White Pine Award (Grade 9–12): Richard Scarsbrook for The Monkeyface Chronicles (Thistledown Press)

Le Prix Tamarack (Grade 4–6; French-language): Patrice Racine for La Quête du dernier dodo: Les Adventures de Cosmo le Dodo (Origo)

Le Prix Tamarack Express (Grade 4–6; French-language): Maxim Cyr and Karine Gottot for Les Dragouilles 2 — Les Bleues de Montréal (Michel Quintin)

For more information about the Forest of Reading Awards, please visit

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad