Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

The 2014 Giller Prize Longlist Has Been Announced

Share |
Giller Prize Logo

The longlist for the 2014 Scotiabank Giller Prize was announced today in Montreal. This year's jury, made up of Canadian author Shauna Singh Balwdwin, British novelist Justin Cartwright and American writer Francine Prose, read 161 eligible books submitted by 63 publishers before selecting the twelve longlisted titles.

On top of the exciting longlist announcement, Giller Prize founder Jack Rabinovitch revealed that the prize money has doubled this year to $140,000, with $100,000 being awarded to the winning author and $10,000 going to each finalist.

The finalists will be revealed on Monday, October 6 in Toronto.

The 2014 Scotiabank Giller Prize Longlist:

  • Arjun Basu for Waiting for the Man (ECW Press)
  • David Bezmozgis for The Betrayers (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Rivka Galchen for American Innovations (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Frances Itani for Tell (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Jennifer Lovegrove for Watch How We Walk (ECW Press)
  • Sean Michaels for Us Conductors (Random House Canada)
  • Shani Mootoo for Moving Forward Sideways Like a Crab (Doubleday Canada)
  • Heather O’Neill for The Girl Who Was Saturday Night (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Kathy Page for Paradise and Elsewhere (John Metcalf Books/Biblioasis)
  • Claire Holden Rothman for My October (Penguin Canada)
  • Miriam Toews for All My Puny Sorrows (Knopf Canada)
  • Padma Viswanathan for The Ever After of Ashwin Rao (Random House Canada)
  • Related item from our archives

    JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


    Open Book App Ad