Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

$50,000 Donner Book Prize awarded to Michael J. Trebilcock

Share |
Michael J. Trebilcock wins Donner Prize

At a ceremony at Toronto's Carlu event venue last night, Michael J. Trebilcock captured the $50,000 Donner Prize. The award honours the best book focused on public policy written by a Canadian each year.

Trebilcock's Dealing With Losers: The Political Economy of Policy Transitions (Oxford University Press) took the winning spot this year. Trebilcock's acceptance speech outlined the book's strategies for dealing with groups and individuals negatively effected by necessary policy changes (the titular "losers"), tackling subjects like a potential carbon tax. Refreshingly focused on the possibility of political compromise, Trebilcock impressed a jury comprised of A. Anne McLellan (Jury Chair), Jean-Marie Dufour, Peter George, V. Peter Harder, and Denis Stairs.

The other shortlisted titles were:

  • Réinventer le Québec: Douze chantiers à entreprendre by Marcel Boyer and Nathalie Elgrably-Lévy (Éditions Stanké)
  • Brave New Canada: Meeting the Challenge of a Changing World by Derek H. Burney and Fen Osler Hampson (McGill-Queen’s University Press)
  • Enlightenment 2.0: Restoring Sanity to Our Politics, Our Economy, and Our Lives by Joseph Heath (HarperCollins)
  • The Donner Prize, established in 1998, annually rewards excellence and innovation in Canadian public policy thinking, writing and research. In bestowing this award, the Donner Canadian Foundation seeks to broaden policy debates, increase general awareness of the importance of policy decision making and make an original and meaningful contribution to policy discourse.

    Related item from our archives

    JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


    Open Book App Ad