Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

CanLit Icons and Fresh Voices Featured on the 2015 Trillium Book Award Shortlists!

Share |
Trillium Book Awards

This year's Trillium Book Award finalists' list sees CanLit icons mixed with fresh voices, for a list that will likely keep book lovers guessing till the last minute. Highly decorated established writers including Margaret Atwood, Thomas King and former Toronto poet laureate Dionne Brand pop up alongside rising stars like Kate Cayley. Both Atwood and King have won the prize previously.

The poetry list features three women whose books have made waves this year for their vibrant, tough language and smart, moving subject matter. We're especially thrilled to see two former Open Book: Toronto writers-in-residence, Brecken Hancock and Aisha Sasha John, represented!

English Finalists for the Trillium Book Award/Prix Trillium:

  • Margaret Atwood for The Stone Mattress (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Dionne Brand for Love Enough (Knopf Canada)
  • Kate Cayley for How You Were Born (Pedlar Press)
  • James King for Old Masters (Cormorant Books)
  • Thomas King for The Back of the Turtle (HarperCollins Publishers)
  • Edmund Metatawabin with Alexandra Shimo for Up Ghost River (Knopf Canada)
  • Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in English language:

  • Brecken Hancock for Broom Broom (Coach House Books)
  • Aisha Sasha John for THOU (BookThug)
  • Deanna Young for House Dreams (Brick Books)
  • Looking to get up close and personal with the Trillium nominees? Don't miss the chance to attend a special reading event on June 16, 2015 at the Bram & Bluma Appel Salon, Toronto Reference Library, 789 Yonge Street (doors at 6:30 p.m., readings at 7:00 p.m.).

    On June 17, 2015 the Hon. Michael Coteau, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport, will announce the winners at a dinner in Toronto.

    The Trillium Book Award was established to recognize excellence, support marketing and foster increased public awareness of the quality and diversity of Ontario authors and their works. The winner receive $20,000 and their respective publishers receive $2,500 to promote the winning titles. All finalists receive a $500 honorarium. The poetry prize winner will receive $10,000 and their publisher $2,000 for promotion of the titles. Finalists also receive a $500 honorarium.

    For a full list of the 2015 Trillium Book Award nominees, including French language nominees, please click here.

    Related item from our archives

    JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


    Open Book App Ad