Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

CBC Canada Writes Announces Short Fiction Prize Nominees, including 4 Ontario Writers!

Share |
CBC Canada Writes 2016

Short fiction sometimes draws the short straw when it comes to book prizes, but every year CBC Canada Writes reminds us that the short story is one of the most exciting literary forms and worth celebrating in a big way. The 2016 jury, consisting of Greg Hollingshead, Padma Viswanathan and Richard Van Camp managed to whittle down a staggering 1800 submissions to just five spectacular short stories. Four of the shortlisted authors are Ontario-based, while the fifth author, Matthew Belyea, lives in Saint John, New Brunswick.

The 2016 CBC Short Story Prize shortlist is:

  • "20 Percent Donnas" by S. Kennedy Sobol
  • "Jake, the Imposter" by Matthew Belyea
  • "Packing Snow" by Justine Mazin
  • "Enigma" by David Huebert
  • "Restitution" by Elaine Stirling
  • CBC has posted the nominated stories online; you can read all five of the finalists' stories by clicking the links above.

    The grand prize winner will be announced on April 19, 2016. He or she will receive $6,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts, publication in Air Canada enRoute magazine and a 10-day writing residency at The Banff Centre. Each of the remaining nominees will receive $1,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts in recognition of the excellence of their work. Past winners of the prize include beloved CanLit icons like Camilla Gibb, Michael Ondaatje and Carol Shields.

    Stay tuned to Open Book next week for an interview with the winning author!

    You can also see the full list of French language nominees on CBC's website.

    Related item from our archives

    JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


    Open Book App Ad