Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Doug Wright Comic Winners Named

Share |

The Doug Wright Awards were presented as part of the 2010 Toronto Comic Arts Festival this past weekend. The awards, named after the late creator of Doug Wright's Family comic strip, are meant to honour the most outstanding artists in the profession.

Several luminaries were presented these awards. Seth, the author of George Sprott, was presented with the Best Book award. Marc Bell was awarded the Pigskin Peters Award for his work on the unconventional comic Hot Potatoe. The artist behind Lose #1, Michael DeForge, was presented with the Best Emerging Talent Prize. All winners were selected by a jury of contemporaries including Carl Wilson, Fiona Smyth and Matt Forsythe, who won last year's Pigskin Peters Award.

Martin Vaugn-James, most commonly known as the creator of several early graphic novels in the 70's, was also posthumously inducted into the Canadian cartoonists' hall of fame, the Giants of the North. Vaughn-James spent several years of his life in Toronto during the 1970s working on these graphic novels.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad