Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Dundurn Press' Kirk Howard wins 2015 Janice E. Handford Award

Share |
Kirk Howard

Yesterday evening, the Ontario Book Publishers Organization honoured Kirk Howard, founder and president of Dundurn Press, with the Janice E. Handford Award.

The award recognizes "an individual who has advanced the cause of small and literary Canadian publishing” and has been a spotlight on some of the industry's most influential individuals, many of whom contributed to the original creation of a homegrown publishing industry in the 1960s and 1970s.

During his remarks, Howard noted the award was particularly meaningful for him. “After more than four decades navigating this ever-evolving and always uncertain field, I can think of no greater achievement than to be recognized by one’s peers,” he said to the crowd of publishing professionals.

Frustrated by the dearth of books on Canadian topics, Howard, who had hitherto worked as a college instructor, established Dundurn in 1972, focusing on Canadian history.

Dundurn expanded significantly under Howard’s leadership over the years, acquiring several other publishing houses and becoming what is today the largest Canadian-owned trade book publishing company in Canada.

Past recipients of the Janice E. Handford Award, which was established in 1997 to honour the late Janice Handford, former Executive Director of the Ontario Book Publishers Organization, include Jack David, Roy Macskimming, Angela Rebeiro, Judy Mappin, Simon Dardick, Tim Inkster, David Caron, Karl Siegler, Stan Bevington, and Jim Polk.

Our congratulations to Kirk and Dundurn Press!

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad