Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Finalists for the 21st Annual Trillium Book Awards

Share |

The finalists for this year’s Trillium Book Awards were announced on May 23. The award was established by the Ontario Government in 1987 “to recognize excellence, support marketing and foster increased public awareness of the quality and diversity of Ontario writers and writing.” The winners of the English and French categories will each receive $20,000 and an additional $2,500 will be awarded to their publishers for promotion of the winning titles. The winners for the French and English poetry categories will each receive $10,000 and their publishers will receive $2,000 for promotion. The winners will be announced on June 12.

English language finalists:

  • Gil Adamson, The Outlander (House of Anansi Press)
  • Lorna Goodison, From Harvey River (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Barbara Gowdy, Helpless (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Robert Hough, The Culprits (Random House Canada)
  • Dennis Lee, Yesno (House of Anansi Press)
  • Ray Robertson, What Happened Later (Thomas Allen Publishers)

English language finalists for poetry:

  • Emily Schultz, Songs for the Dancing Chicken (ECW Press)
  • Rob Winger, Muybridge’s Horse (Nightwood Editions)
  • Rachel Zolf, Human Resources (Coach House Books)

French language finalists:

  • Andrée Christensen, Depuis toujours, j’entendais la mer (Les Éditions David)
  • Michel Dallaire, l’anarchie des innocences (Les Éditions L’Interligne)
  • Gilles Lacombe, La Jouissance des nuages de la pensée (Les Éditions L’Interligne)
  • Pierre Raphaël Pelletier, L’Oil de la lumière (Les Éditions L’Interligne)
  • Richard Poulin, Enfances dévastées, tome 1 : L’Enfer de la prostitution (Les Éditions L’Interligne)
  • Michèle Vinet, Parce que chanter c’est trop dur (Prise de parole)

French language finalists for poetry:

  • Tina Charlebois, Poils lisses (Les Éditions L’Interligne)
  • Christian Milat, Douleureuse aurore (Les Éditions David)

Visit the Ontario Media Development Corporation website to read about the finalists for this year's Trillium Book Awards and for a list of previous winners.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad