Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Finalists Announced for the 2014 Trillium Book Awards!

Share |
Trillium logo

The 2014 Trillium Book Award nominations include a significant small press presence, with nods for indie houses Guernica Editions, Pedlar Press (the only house to scoop two English-language spots), Playwrights Canada Press, Cormorant Books and House of Anansi. The nominees are a mix of established and mid-career authors, many with significant honours under their belts already, including Scotiabank Giller Prize winner Austin Clarke, Governor General’s Literary Award nominee Hannah Moscovitch and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize winner Helen Humphreys, to highlight just a few. With such a strong crowd of writers nominated, the jury will have a tough task choosing the winners, who will be announced on June 17, 2014.

Presented annually by the OMDC (Ontario Media Development Corporation), the Trillium Awards honour the finest in Ontario writing. The author of each winning book receives a $20,000 prize purse.

Book lovers take note: You can attend a pre-announcement reading featuring several of the shortlisted authors. This event is free and open to the public. It takes place at the Toronto Reference Library in the Bram & Bluma Appel Salon, (789 Yonge Street, Toronto). Visit the OMDC website for more event information and to register to secure a spot.

And Open Book is thrilled to congratulate two past writers-in-residence, Barry Dempster (April 2014) and Adam Dickinson (April 2013) for their nominations.

English Finalists for the Trillium Book Award/Prix Trillium:

  • Craig Davidson for Cataract City (Doubleday Canada)
  • Barry Dempster for The Outside World (Pedlar Press)
  • Lorna Goodison for Supplying Salt and Light (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Helen Humphreys for Nocturne (HarperCollins Publishers)
  • Hannah Moscovitch for This is War (Playwrights Canada Press)
  • Peter Unwin for Life Without Death and Other Stories (Cormorant Books)
  • Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in English language:

  • Austin Clarke for Where the Sun Shines Best (Guernica Editions)
  • Adam Dickinson for The Polymers (House of Anansi Press)
  • Souvankham Thammavongsa for Light (Pedlar Press)
  • For information about the French-language Trillium Awards/Prix Trillium nominees, please visit the OMDC website.

    Related item from our archives

    JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


    Open Book App Ad