Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Johanna Skibsrud Awarded the Scotiabank Giller Prize

Share |
Johanna Skibsrud Awarded the Scotiabank Giller Prize

Congratulations to Montreal-based writer Johanna Skibsrud, 2010 winner of the Scotiabank Giller Prize for her novel The Sentimentalists (Gaspereau Press). The announcement was made last night at a ceremony in Toronto. The 2010 jury panel consisted of Michael Enright, Claire Messud and Ali Smith.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize is the largest annual literary prize in Canada. The winner of the prize is awarded $50,000, and each finalist receives $5,000. The literary blog Salty Ink reports that Skibsrud will be using her award to “pay off her student loan and travel the Trans Siberian Railway.”

The 2010 finalists were: David Bergen for The Matter with Morris (Phyllis Bruce Books/Harper Collins Publishers Ltd.), Alexander MacLeod for Light Lifting (Biblioasis), Sarah Selecky for This Cake is for the Party (Thomas Allen Publishers), Johanna Skibsrud for The Sentimentalists (Gaspereau Press) and Kathleen Winter for Annabel (House of Anansi Press).

For more information about the Scotiabank Giller Awards, please visit

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad