Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

League of Canadian Poets Announces Annual Poetry Prizes Honouring Spoken Word, Debut Poets and More!

Share |
2015 Gerald Lampert Memorial Award winner, Kayla Czaga

On May 30, 2015, The League of Canadian Poets announced the winners of their Raymond Souster, Pat Lowther and Gerald Lampert Memorial and Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret awards.

The prizes were presented at a conference in Winnipeg. Jointly presented by the LCP and the Writers Union of Canada, the event marked the 49th annual LCP Poetry Conference and Festival.

The Winners of the 2015 League of Canadian Poets Prizes:

2015 Raymond Souster Award:

Washita by Patrick Lane (Harbour Publishing)
This $1,000 award honours a book of poetry by a League member publishing in the previous year

2015 Pay Lowther Award:

M x T by Sina Queyras (Coach House Books)
This $1,000 award celebrates book of poetry by a Canadian woman published in the previous year

2015 Gerald Lampert Memorial Award:

For Your Safety Please Hold On by Kayla Czaga (Nightwood Editions)
This $1,000 award recognizes the best debut book of poetry published by a Canadian in the previous year

2015 Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award:

Penn Kemp
This $1,000 body of work award honours a Canadian spoken word artist who has made a substantial contribution to the development of spoken word

Many of the LCP's awards have rich and meaningful histories. The Pat Lowther Memorial Award, for instance, honours the late Lowther, whose career was cut short by her untimely death in 1975.

The League of Canadian Poets was founded in 1966 to nurture the advancement of poetry in Canada, and the promotion of the interests of poets. It now comprises over 700 members.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad