Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015


Share |

From our friends at the International Festival of Authors:

The International Visitors (IV) Programme, in association with IFOA, is pleased to announce Louise Dennys, Executive Vice President, Random House of Canada Limited, and Executive Publisher, Knopf Random Canada Publishing Group, as the second annual recipient of the Ivy Award. The Ivy Award is an annual award presented to a person who has made a substantial contribution to Canadian publishing.

Louise Dennys pioneered the practice of publishing separate Canadian editions for noteworthy international writers—first as Publisher of Lester and Orpen Dennys and subsequently as Publisher of Knopf Canada, then Executive Publisher of Knopf/Random/and Vintage Canada—by providing foreign writers with full domestic rights publication in Canada and bringing those authors here to promote those books, as well as by tirelessly promoting her Canadian authors abroad.

“I’m thrilled and very moved," said Louise Dennys. “To be recognized by a jury of one's colleagues is always the greatest honour. And for me it is especially meaningful to receive this award in the context of the International Festival of Authors because the Festival means so much to Canadian readers and publishers, and to writers from all around the world."

Dennys will be presented her award onstage by critically acclaimed author and literary giant Salman Rushdie at the International Festival of Authors on Monday, October 28th.

Salman Rushdie is the author of eleven novels including Midnight's Children, for which he won the Booker Prize and the Best of the Booker; one collection of short stories, East, West; and four works of nonfiction. His most recent book, Joseph Anton, was both critically acclaimed and a number one national bestseller, and is his extraordinary memoir of the nine years he lived under the fatwa for having written the novel The Satanic Verses. Louise Dennys has been Rushdie’s long-time Canadian publisher.

The jury, comprised of Joe Kertes (Dean, School of Creative and Performing Art at Humber College), Linda McKnight (Director, Shareholder and Vice President of Westwood Creative Artists) and Ben McNally (Proprietor, Ben McNally Books), said of their choice:

“Louise has long been the preeminent literary ambassador for Canada and its writers, from the time she led the first Canadian Publishing Trade Mission to the UK in 1984 and the first to China in 1988, broadly supporting her fellow publishers in these endeavours. We can think of no one who better embodies the qualities this award seeks to honour, and of no one who is more deserving of it.”

Geoffrey E. Taylor, Director of IFOA, was the acting liaison between the Committee and the jury.

IFOA is delighted to welcome Salman Rushdie to the stage to celebrate Dennys and her remarkable contributions to Canadian publishing. The Ivy Award will be presented at the beginning of the Governor General’s Literary Award Finalists reading event on October 28th.

Tickets are now on sale for the Governor General’s Literary Award Finalists event at

Celebrating its sixth year, the IV Programme invites publishing professionals from around the world to participate in five days of inter-industry dialogue with the goal of increasing opportunities for Canadian authors and publishers abroad. IV Programme participants benefit from a full schedule of publisher-hosted events and receptions, a mini rights-fair, and an industry-focused keynote address, as well as attending a number of IFOA onstage events. This year’s IV Programme runs from October 21 to 25 as part of the International Festival of Authors (October 24-November 3, 2013).

For more information about the IV Programme please visit

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad