Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers: Call for Submissions

Share |
Bronwen Wallace

From our friends at the Writers' Trust of Canada

The Writers' Trust is now accepting submissions for the 2014 RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers!

Prize Guidelines

Established in memory of author Bronwen Wallace, this award alternates each year between short fiction and poetry. The 2014 prize will be given for an outstanding work of short fiction. Wallace felt that writers should have more opportunities for greater recognition early in their careers and so this annual award is given to a writer below the age of 35 who has published poetry or prose in literary magazines, journals or anthologies, but has not yet been published in book form.

A prize of $5,000 will be awarded to the best work of short fiction. Two honourable mentions will each receive $1,000 prizes.

Eligibility information:

  • A Canadian citizen or permanent resident
  • Under the age of 35 as of the deadline date
  • Previously published in an independently edited magazine or anthology
  • Unpublished in book form and without a book contract
  • Candidates should submit 5 - 10 pages (up to 2,500 words) of previously unpublished fiction. Manuscript pages must not include identifying information, and should be consecutively numbered.

    Submissions should be accompanied by a cover letter with the candidate's name, address, email, and telephone number. Please also include details confirming eligibility: age, citizenship, and previous publishing credit(s).

    By submitting to this award, candidates grant the Writers’ Trust of Canada permission to publish their work in print and digital formats should they be shortlisted. All rights reserved by the authors.

    Three prize finalists will be announced on April 29 and the award will be presented at an event in Toronto on May 27 (dates subject to change).


    Please note that the Writers' Trust is moving offices, so in order to avoid confusion, we are not accepting paper submissions this year.

    Submit your entry via email in PDF format to:
    Amanda Hopkins, Program Manager
    For more information, please visit the Writers' Trust website.

    Related item from our archives

    JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


    Open Book App Ad