Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Scotiabank Giller Prize Jury Reveals Surprising Shortlist

Share |
Daydreams of Angels

This year's Scotiabank Giller Prize jury shook things up at the venerable award, choosing a longlist full of small press offerings and short fiction, two categories which have historically been weakly represented.

The shortlist is also a surprise, with heavy hitters and past nominees from the longlist, such as Patrick deWitt and Marina Endicott, absent. It's proved a particularly good year for small press Biblioasis, who published two of the five shortlisted titles. Also surprising is the complete shut out this year of Penguin Random House group, the multi-imprint publisher who recently merged to become the world's largest publishing house.

It's an exciting year with a tough to predict winner. Check out the shortlist below and make your prediction!

The 2015 Scotiabank Giller Prize Shortlist:

  • André Alexis for his novel Fifteen Dogs, published by Coach House Books
  • Samuel Archibald for his story collection Arvida, published by Biblioasis, translated from the French by Donald Winkler
  • Rachel Cusk for her novel Outline, published by Harper Perennial, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • Heather O’Neill for her story collection Daydreams of Angels, published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • Anakana Schofield for her novel Martin John, published by A John Metcalf Book, an imprint of Biblioasis
  • The list was selected by a five member jury comprised of Irish author John Boyne, who serves as Jury Chair, Canadian writers Cecil Foster, Alexander MacLeod and , and British author Helen Oyeyemi.

    The winner of the Giller Prize will be announced on November 10, 2015.

    Related item from our archives

    JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


    Open Book App Ad