Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Short List Announced for the 2013 Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Share |
The Writer's Union of Canada

The Writer's Union of Canada has announced the short list for the 17th annual Danuta Gleed Literary Award, recognizing the best first English language short fiction collection by a Canadian author. This year's jury, authors Candas Jane Dorsey, Russell Wangersky and Ian Williams, were tasked with selecting five titles for the shortlist from the 28 collections submitted for consideration. The award consist of three cash prizes, the first prize winner will receive $10,000 and two additional prizes of $500 will go to the second and third place winners.

The Danuta Gleed Literary Award Finalists:

Théodora Armstrong, Clear Skies, No Wind, 100% Visibility (Astoria)
Lisa Bird-Wilson, Just Pretending (Coteau Books)
Astrid Blodgett, You Haven’t Changed a Bit (University of Alberta Press)
Paul Carlucci, The Secret Life of Fission (Oberon Press)
Eufemia Fantetti, A Recipe for Disaster & Other Unlikely Tales of Love (Mother Tongue Publishing)

The winners will be announced at The Writers’ Union of Canada’s OnWords Conference on May 31st. For more information on the award, visit the Writer's Union of Canada website.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad