Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015


Share |
Writers' Union logo

Short story lovers got a gift today in the form of the , courtesy of the Writers' Union of Canada.

This year marks the 19th iteration of the award, which recognizes the best first collection of short fiction by a Canadian author published in English in the previous year. The winner of the award will receive a cool $10,000, with two runners up receiving $500 each.

The 2016 jurors are Shauna Singh Baldwin, Barry Dempster, and Dora Dueck, who selected from 25 collections submitted.

Open Book is thrilled to see both our current writer-in-residence, Andrew Forbes, and our Assistant Editor, Kevin Hardcastle, featured on the shortlist!

2016 Danuta Gleed Literary Award Shortlist:

  • Gerard Beirne for In a Time of Drought and Hunger (Oberon Press)
  • Andrew Forbes for What You Need (Invisible Publishing)
  • Hugh Graham for Last Words (Exile Editions)
  • Kevin Hardcastle for Debris (Biblioasis)
  • Heather O’Neill for Daydreams of Angels (HarperCollins Canada)
  • The winners will be announced at the Canadian Writers’ Summit (June 15 to June 19, 2016) at Harbourfront.

    The Danuta Gleed Award was created to by John Gleed to honour his late wife, a writer whose short fiction won several awards before her death in December 1996.

    Related item from our archives

    JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


    Open Book App Ad