Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

The Writers' Trust Announces 2014 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize Finalists!

Share |
Writers' Trust of Canada logo

From our friends at the Writers' Trust:

The Writers’ Trust of Canada has named the five finalists for the $25,000 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing. Now in its fourteenth year, the prize is awarded annually for a book of literary non-fiction that captures a political subject of relevance to Canadian readers and which has the potential to shape or influence thinking on Canadian political life. The winner will be announced in Ottawa on April 2, 2014, at the Politics and the Pen Gala, an event which attracts Ottawa's top players every year.

Penguin Random House scooped four of the five nominations, including Graeme Smith completing his hat trick of nominations for all three major non-fiction prizes this year (The Hilary Weston Writers Trust Prize and the RBC Taylor Prize in addition to the Shaughnessy Cohen). Dark horse Whatever Happened to the Music Teacher? How Government Decides and Why (McGill-Queen's University Press) by Donald J. Savoie rounds out the list. Each nominated author will receive $2,500.

The full list of finalists, selected by Calgary Herald editorial page editor Licia Corbella, journalist Jane O’Hara and Globe and Mail international affairs columnist Doug Saunders, is:

  • Margaret MacMillan for The War That Ended Peace: The Road to 1914 (Allen Lane Canada)
  • Charles Montgomery for Happy City: Transforming Our Lives Through Urban Design (Doubleday Canada)
  • Donald J. Savoie for Whatever Happened to the Music Teacher? How Government Decides and Why (McGill-Queen’s University Press)
  • Graeme Smith for The Dogs Are Eating Them Now: Our War in Afghanistan (Knopf Canada)
  • Paul Wells for The Longer I’m Prime Minister: Stephen Harper and Canada, 2006– (Random House Canada)
  • The Shaughnessy Cohen Prize is sponsored by Bell Media and supported by the Politics and the Pen Gala. For more information on this year’s finalists and to download high-resolution images of the nominated authors and their books, visit

    Related item from our archives

    JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


    Open Book App Ad