Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Writers' Trust Announces Finalists for the Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing

Share |
Writers' Trust of Canada

The Writers' Trust of Canada has announced the five finalists for the $25,000 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing. The prize, now in its fifteenth year, is awarded annually to a book of literary non-fiction that eloquently captures a significant subject in Canadian politics with the potential to shape or influence thinking on Canadian political life. This year's finalists were selected by a jury comprising of author Denise Chong, author and Ottawa Citizen columnist Terry Glavin and The Globe and Mail Atlantic bureau chief Jane Taber.

The books run a gamut of topics from a plea for rational political thought, an exploration of the 1995 Quebec referendum, the role our capitalist economy plays in failed climate change policy, an impassioned call for Canadians to support Aboriginal voices and an authoritative account of Nova Scotia's recent one-term majority NDP government.

The Finalists for the 2014 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing:

  • Enlightenment 2.0: Restoring Sanity to Our Politics, Our Economy, and Our Lives by Joseph Heath (HarperCollins Canada)
  • The Morning After: The 1995 Quebec Referendum and the Day that Almost Was by Chantal Hébert with Jean Lapierre (Knopf Canada)
  • This Changes Everything: Capitalism Vs. the Climate by Naomi Klein (Knopf Canada)
  • The Comeback: How Aboriginals Are Reclaiming Power and Influence by John Ralston Saul (Viking Canada)
  • What I Learned About Politics: Inside the Rise—and Collapse—of Nova Scotia's NDP Government by Graham Steele (Nimbus Publishing)
  • The winner will be announced in Ottawa on March 11, 2015, at the Politics and the Pen Gala. For more information, please visit the Writers' Trust of Canada website.

    Related item from our archives

    JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


    Open Book App Ad